Qatar`s support for the Muslim Brotherhood in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA), Hamas and radical Islamists in Libya has created growing tensions with other Arab states in the Persian Gulf. [62] [63] [64] Tensions escalated at a GCC meeting in March 2014, after which the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia and Bahrain announced the recall of their ambassadors to Qatar. [65] [66] [67] [68] The GCC has launched joint economic projects to promote and facilitate integration. Member States have connected their electricity networks and a water connection project has been launched and is expected to be operational by 2020. A project to create a public air system was also presented. [30] This region is one of the fastest growing economies in the world, mainly due to a boom in oil and gas revenues, combined with a construction and investment boom, supported by decades of saved oil revenues. In order to create a tax base and an economic base before reserves expire, UAE capital assets, including the Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, retain more than $900 billion in assets. Other regional funds also have hundreds of billions of dollars in assets under management. All the current Member States are monarchies, including three constitutional monarchies (Qatar, Kuwait and Bahrain), [5] [6] two absolute monarchies (Saudi Arabia and Oman) and a federal monarchy (the United Arab Emirates, which consists of seven member states, each an absolute monarchy with its own emir).

Discussions were held on the future accession of Jordan, Morocco and Yemen. [7] [8] Given that Jordan and Morocco are the only two Arab monarchies not currently on the Council, the current members see them as powerful potential allies. Jordan borders Saudi Arabia and is economically linked to the Persian Gulf states. Although Morocco is not close to the Persian Gulf, Moroccan Foreign Minister Taieb Fassi Fihri notes that „geographic distance is not an obstacle to a strong relationship.“ [76] The initial union of 2,673,110 square kilometres included Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates ( United Arab Emirates). The single economic agreement between the GCC countries was signed on 11 November 1981 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. These countries are often referred to as „GCC countries“ or „Gulf countries.“ The GCC Patent Office was approved in 1992 and was founded shortly thereafter in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. [33] Applications are filed and prosecuted in Arabic before the GCC Patent Office in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, which is a separate office of the Saudi Patent Office. The GCC Patent Office issues valid patents in all GCC member states. Ccg`s first patent was issued in 2002.

In 2013, it employed about 30 patent examiners. The Cooperation Council for the Gulf Arab States (Arabic: ) originally (and still familiar) as the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), the Political and Economic Union () is a regional political and economic association composed of all the Arab states of the Persian Gulf – Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, with the exception of Iraq. [2] [3] The GCC Charter was signed on May 25, 1981 and was officially founded. [4] The Secretary-General of the GCC strongly supported the use of international force in Libya. GCC member states have joined the coalition`s efforts to impose the no-fly zone. [39] A proposal in 2011 to transform the Gulf Cooperation Council into a „Gulf Union“ with closer economic, political and military coordination was put forward by Saudi Arabia, a measure aimed at countering Iranian influence in the region. [9] [10] Other countries have challenged the proposal. [11] [12] In 2014, Bahrain`s Prime Minister Khalifa bin Salman Al Khalifa said that current events in the region underscored the importance of the proposal.

[13] The Peninsula Shield Force is the military arm of the GCC, founded in 1984.